Breastfeeding Week

So it’s Breastfeeding week!

Now before I start this isn’t going to be a ‘Nazi breastfeeding’ thing. If you formula feed then that’s great too! I had to rely on formula in addition to breastmilk until my Little Man was 6 months old! I’m sure we can all agree that fed is best.

Okay so back to the point.

I am writing this because here in the UK we have some of the lowest breastfeeding rates in the world. Yeah you read that right.

To help combat this they plan to teach 11 year olds about breastfeeding. Now I can kind of agree with this. I think if you think kids are old enough to learn about how a baby is made then they are old enough to learn how to feed a baby. However it is a shame that we have to start teaching children about this in schools from a young enough age just in the hopes that it normalises breastfeeding.

Now I can understand where some people come from when they say that women just whack their boobs out without any care for anyone else. You do get some people (and this goes for all sorts of people not just breastfeeding women, I’m sure you know what I mean) that like to flaunt their lives in front of everyone and shove it in everyone’s faces. Yeah I’m not cool with that either.

I do however think that people need to cool it when it comes to telling every breastfeeding mother that they need to put it away. The majority of women can breastfeed very discreetly, let’s face it our boobs don’t always look as good as they did pre-pregnancy so why would we want you to see something we are insecure about? Having said that sometimes we don’t have much of a choice. A baby doesn’t always like being covered by a big piece of fabric and nursing-friendly clothes are pricey, so yes sometimes we just have to whack it out but we will do so as quickly as possible and babies naturally strategically place position themselves in a way that you can barely see anything anyway.

Breastfeeding is HARD. It can hurt, it takes up most of your day, it leaves you with stains in awkward places on you tops and mastitis is one of the worst illnesses I’ve ever experienced. We do not need silly people telling us we should just feed at home or pump and put it in a bottle. SOME WOMEN CAN’T PUMP MUCH MILK OUT! NO I WILL NOT GO SIT ON A TOILET SEAT TO FEED MY BRAND NEW BABY!

So next time you see a mother trying to breastfeed her child, instead of asking the manager to chuck her out (which is illegal btw) maybe ask them for a glass of water and take it over to her. Breastfeeding is thirsty work and hey maybe it will mean some good karma comes your way.

People are quick to criticize the fact that breastfeeding is pushed onto us but these are also the same people that are quick to forget that breastfeeding mothers are told to shove off or feed from a bottle instead. It goes both ways. Just be kind to mothers however they feed. Otherwise I will hand you a hungry screaming baby and then criticize you when you try to stop them crying.

6 thoughts on “Breastfeeding Week

  1. Harietto says:

    I never understood how seeing someone breastfeed made some people uncomfortable. Even when I was a kid I knew it was natural, I was taught what it meant. I think that because “boobs” are so sexualized now it’s supposed to be covered. It’s so stupid. I breastfeed in public with no problem, it was a little weird the first few times but I never got any weird looks or comments. If anyone ever dared, I’d let them have it πŸ™‚ Happy breastfeeding week from me to you!

    Liked by 2 people

    • diaryofninemonths says:

      I don’t get it either! Sure you hear about women that go ott because they want to prove a point, but I have yet to meet one! The average breastfeeding woman will do so to feed their child! Not to make the world around them uncomfortable! I have yet to receive any weird looks, I personally try to use a cover because otherwise my little one gets too distracted by everything around him so without it he’s on and off every five seconds and it gets a little annoying because then it gets a bit messy πŸ™ˆ I heard about a woman that sprayed someone with their milk because she told her that her breastfeeding was ‘distracting her husband’. I think that was a funny way to handle it, maybe not the correct way to handle it but depending on my mood I may do the same if anyone dared πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ happy breastfeeding week!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

