Contraception

I can’t be the only woman around who thinks that this can be a major pain in the arse side of being a woman right?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad that science has advanced enough that we are able to have the choice about how many children we want and when we want them, however I kind of wish the choice of contraception was easier and that there weren’t so many downsides!

A few years ago I was on the combined pill Microgynon 30. I was probably taking it for about 2 years when I decided it was time to get off it and just try the withdrawal method. Yes I know it’s not technically a method in some people’s eyes but when used properly and if you are tracking your cycles (I was only using a period tracker app not actually temping so I’m actually impressed that it worked as an effective contraception for so long, though I do think it would still be working if it wasn’t for a lot of human error) then it can be as effective as condoms.

At the start of our relationship we tried condoms but I would bleed with every use and when we tried non-latex ones they broke or slipped off and well that just wasn’t worth the hassle or the risk.

Now I am post baby. There were so many options but the doctor suggested the mini pill Cerazette for me. It is a great temporary contraception. If you want to stop it then you just stop taking it easy peasy and it doesn’t interfere with milk production. Great! I didn’t like the idea of implants or coils especially as (yes I know you can get them taken out before but that can be hassle as well) they have such a long life and I wanted more control over being able to choose when and if we decided to expand our family. I also felt like I was being pro-active and like I was less likely to be that 1% of people that get pregnant on contraception because I was actively taking it and so I knew it would be working. Well that’s how I feel anyway. I can’t do anything about the coil or implant except have it put in, and yes for a lot of people the simpler option is better, but I don’t like that lack of control feeling I get even thinking about it.

Out of all of them it is the option that feels best for me. Though I do wish natural methods worked better for me but I don’t quite trust it just yet. Maybe if we ever get into a position where another baby wouldn’t be the worst thing, but at the moment we can’t fit anyone else in our little space.

Now that bit is all out of the way and explained, how much does pumping your body with hormones just suck?!

I hate it. With the combined pill I had this horrible feeling that I needed to detox of it and that I didn’t feel good on it. I can’t quite explain it but it just made me feel horrible. This time round it isn’t as bad but I still feel like I could do with flushing the extra hormones out. I also don’t like the lack of control over my cycle. When I was younger I could tell you the exact time and day I was going to start and finish. Fast forward to when I started taking this mini pill, I bled constantly for about 6 weeks and then had nothing until this week. What I’m getting is more than spotting but less than an actual ‘flow’ and it is really starting to annoy me because I don’t know whether I need to wear stuff or whether I can get away with it. I also have no idea when the random little surprises are going to finish so that doesn’t help me decide what I’m going to wear each day. I also don’t want to be caught short while at work! Seeing as I have been on this pill since my little man was 6 weeks old it seems a bit out of the blue! I’ve also had a major headache since the bleeding appeared and it has been so bad it is making me feel sick.

I’m getting annoyed with it all but my options are stick it out or try a different mini pill and risk suffering other side effects until my body gets used to it.

If only you could press a switch to switch on or off things eh? Maybe one day in the very distant future technology and mother nature will join forces and make life easier for us females.

Anyone else hate this aspect of being a female? Has natural methods of contraception actually worked for people?

10 thoughts on “Contraception

  1. Some Kind Of Beautiful Chaos says:

    urgh I hear ya! After my daughter I was prescribed the pill which was fine for a while, then it started giving me horrendous headaches during every break , so I stopped it back in January last year , since then I erupted in full blown acne! apparently common after stopping the pill , its been a miserable time, and it is only now my face is starting to clear. Sucks to be a girl sometimes …… men should take a pill haha!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Harietto says:

    Ooooooh my god, I was just about to write a blog post about this. I know how you feel! I’m on the mini pill too and I’m having headaches almost daily now and I don’t know what to do. I’m always hydrated, fed and get enough fresh air so it has to come from the pills.. I wish I could quit taking them but I don’t want to get pregnant again yet, that’s for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Harietto says:

        Yeah for sure. I hope my husband will get snipped after we’re done having kids. He hasn’t decided on it yet, to me it seems like a no brainer but alright πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • diaryofninemonths says:

        Hahaha πŸ˜‚
        I think when we are done I will try the coil or implant but if I dont get on with it I will suggest the snip πŸ˜‚ also depends on how old we are, my partner is 29 this year and we’ve talked about two more so he will be nearer mid 30s which is a good time for him I think to get snipped πŸ˜‚ not too young πŸ˜‚

        Like

      • Harietto says:

        My husband is 32 and I’m 25 and we haven’t decided on a number of kids yet but I think he’ll do it. For me. I mean it’s not that big of a deal is it? It’s deff an easier procedure than me getting it done. πŸ˜…

        Liked by 1 person

      • diaryofninemonths says:

        So true! If I had to have a c-section and was told I shouldn’t have more and they suggested taking it out at the same time (I hear sometimes that’s done? Maybe more America but ya know) then maybe
        But as an op in itself its so much easier for a man to get it done! And theres no hormonal after effects for them either! πŸ™ˆ

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

