Losing Weight

I get that it’s the time of year where we should be gorging guilt free on all those mouth watering treats covering our tables, but 2017 is also just around the corner which mean new years resolution time! I’m going to call them my goals, I’ll explain why in my post about resolutions later on, but I will let you in on a secret, losing weight is one of them! Yeah I know basically everyone in the world, well basically every woman in the world, says that losing weight is their number one resolution.

I don’t know how much I want to lose, well I suppose that I want to lose around a stone, I have currently lost about 5lbs and that is not included in the stone I would like to lose. I was back at my pre-pregnancy weight within two weeks of having my little man but I have always wanted to lose a bit of weight.

I was always slim growing up. In fact I was often asked if I had an eating disorder because there was literally nothing to me. I left school and got my first proper job and started ordering pizzas and eating cheesy chips as if my life depended on it. I gained a little bit of weight from this but maybe only about half a stone over 9 months. I was happy with this as I needed to fill out a bit. Then I got into a relationship with my now partner. I then decided to go on the combined pill and I started gaining weight easily. I know there is no real link between the pill and gaining weight but for me I feel like it has had an effect on my metabolism. Either that or it is a mega coincidence that my metabolism fell through the floor at the same time as starting it!

My belly hasn’t been super flat since my teens and when trying on clothes in Primark a couple of years ago I was horrified to find out that my legs and but have that orange peel look going on. Not happy. Damn Primark and their full length mirrors. I had to go up a size in my clothes, even nearing a size 14. Now when you spent most of your teenage life being about to fit 8-10 this came as a bit of a shock.

Now I am comfortably in size 12 jeans and tops. My hips and my boobs are slightly big so even if I lose a lot of weight I know that I’ll never drop a lot of dress sizes. Once my hips decided to grow in puberty it became clear that a size 10 was the smallest I was going to fit in around that area. But that’s okay. I’m happy with that. I want to get back to that.

I am trying with my portion control and starting to be more aware of what I am eating. I am always hungry because I am breastfeeding but I am drinking a lot more water to try and feel full between meals and I am trying to take my mind off food. If someone mentions something yummy it will just make me mega hungry and I will not be able to focus on anything else until I eat myself into a food coma.

But I will get there. I am determined. That little pouch will go down and I will try and keep those dimples to the cheeks on my face. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

